CHAPTER 136

GOVERNMENT - COUNTY

HOUSE BILL 20-1281

BY REPRESENTATIVE(S) Pelton and Valdez D., Gray, Liston, Neville; also SENATOR(S) Hisey, Crowder, Donovan, Gardner, Holbert, Marble, Priola, Rankin, Sonnenberg, Tate.

AN ACT

CONCERNING THE SALARY CATEGORIZATION OF LOCALLY ELECTED OFFICERS IN SPECIFIED COUNTIES.

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the State of Colorado:

SECTION 1. In Colorado Revised Statutes, 30-2-102, **amend** (1.5)(a)(III)(A), (1.5)(a)(III)(B), (1.5)(a)(IV)(B), and (1.5)(a)(IV)(C) as follows:

- **30-2-102.** Categorization of counties for fixing salaries of county officers salary amounts legislative declaration. (1.5) (a) For the purpose of establishing the salaries of county officers whose terms of office begin on or after January 1, 2016:
- (III) (A) Category III-A counties consist of the counties of Alamosa, Chaffee, Clear Creek, Gunnison, Moffat, Montrose, Morgan, Park, Rio Blanco, San Miguel, and Teller;
- (B) Category III-B counties consist of the counties of ALAMOSA, Archuleta, Delta, Gilpin, Grand, and Logan;
- (IV) (B) Category IV-B counties consist of the counties of Kit Carson, Lake, AND Washington; and Yuma;
- (C) Category IV-C counties consist of the counties of Huerfano, and Rio Grande, AND YUMA;
- **SECTION 2.** Act subject to petition effective date. This act takes effect at 12:01 a.m. on the day following the expiration of the ninety-day period after final adjournment of the general assembly (August 5, 2020, if adjournment sine die is on

Capital letters or bold & italic numbers indicate new material added to existing law; dashes through words or numbers indicate deletions from existing law and such material is not part of the act.

May 6, 2020); except that, if a referendum petition is filed pursuant to section 1 (3) of article V of the state constitution against this act or an item, section, or part of this act within such period, then the act, item, section, or part will not take effect unless approved by the people at the general election to be held in November 2020 and, in such case, will take effect on the date of the official declaration of the vote thereon by the governor.

Approved: June 26, 2020