Skip to main content
Colorado General AssemblyToggle Main Menu
Agency NameToggle Agency Menu

4D75211C7203129887258283006410BF Hearing Summary


Date May 4, 2018      
Location LSB A

SB18-001 - Referred to House Appropriations

12:13:00 PM  
Representatives Gray and Bridges began
a presentation of Senate Bill 18-001.  Representative Buck, co-prime
sponsor, continued to present SB 18-001.  The reengrossed bill transfers
General Fund for transportation purposes in FY 2018-19 and FY 2019-20.
 It also makes a number of provisions for additional transportation
funding.  The committee recessed.
12:19:35 PM  
The committee returned to order. Representatives Buck and Winter continued their presentation of the bill and responded to committee questions.
12:33:11 PM  
Committee discussion about the bill continued.
12:40:12 PM  
Mr. Greg Sobetski, Legislative Council Staff, discussed a flow chart on page three of the most recent version of the fiscal note, dated May 4. Mr. Sobetski responded to committee questions.
12:52:07 PM  
Mr. Sobetski and the bill sponsors continued to respond to committee questions.
12:54:28 PM  
Mr. Brian Tanner, representing the Colorado Education Association, testified from a neutral position on the bill.
12:57:20 PM  
Mr. Andy Karsian, representing the Colorado Department of Transportation, testified from a neutral position on the bill.
12:57:59 PM  
Mr. Eric Richardson, representing the Colorado Department of Transportation, testified from a neutral position on the bill.
01:00:04 PM  
Mr. Karsian and Mr. Richardson responded to committee questions.
01:10:07 PM  

Ms. Sandra Solin, representing the Northern Colorado Legislative Alliance, testified in support of the bill.

01:15:26 PM  
Committee discussion about potential amendments to the bill commenced.
01:17:10 PM  
The bill sponsors made closing comments on the bill.
01:17:32 PM  
Members of the committee commented on the merits of the bill. The bill sponsors responded to committee comments.

01:29:00 PM
Motion Refer Senate Bill 18-001 to the Committee on Appropriations.
Moved Michaelson Jenet
Seconded Rosenthal
Beckman Yes
Bridges Yes
Covarrubias Yes
Gray Yes
Kennedy Yes
Lawrence No
Michaelson Jenet Yes
Rosenthal Yes
Sandridge Yes
Thurlow Yes
Van Winkle No
Foote Yes
Pabon Yes
Final YES: 11   NO: 2   EXC: 0   ABS:  0   FINAL ACTION:  PASS

The effective date for bills enacted without a safety clause is August 7, 2024, if the General Assembly adjourns sine die on May 8, 2024, unless otherwise specified. Details