Second Regular Session Seventy-first General Assembly STATE OF COLORADO

REENGROSSED

This Version Includes All Amendments Adopted in the House of Introduction HOUSE BILL 18-1242

LLS NO. 18-0822.01 Gregg Fraser x4325

HOUSE SPONSORSHIP

Becker K. and Valdez,

Crowder,

SENATE SPONSORSHIP

House Committees Finance **Senate Committees**

A BILL FOR AN ACT

101 CONCERNING THE SALARY CATEGORIZATION OF LOCALLY ELECTED

102 OFFICERS IN SPECIFIED COUNTIES.

Bill Summary

(Note: This summary applies to this bill as introduced and does not reflect any amendments that may be subsequently adopted. If this bill passes third reading in the house of introduction, a bill summary that applies to the reengrossed version of this bill will be available at <u>http://leg.colorado.gov</u>.)

Current law categorizes each county for purposes of establishing the salaries of elected county officials in the county. The statutory salary amounts are adjusted every 2 years for inflation and take effect for terms commencing after any change is made. The bill modifies the categories of 4 counties with the accompanying percentage increase in salary as follows:





- ! Grand county changes from category III-D to category III-B (20% increase);
- ! Rio Grande county changes from category IV-D to category IV-C (10% increase);
- Saguache county changes from category V-D to category V-B (20% increase); and
- ! Jackson county changes from category VI-D to category VI-C (10% increase).
- 1 Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the State of Colorado:

2 SECTION 1. In Colorado Revised Statutes, 30-2-102, amend 3 (1.5)(a)(III)(B), (1.5)(a)(III)(D), (1.5)(a)(IV)(C), (1.5)(a)(V)(B),4 (1.5)(a)(V)(D), and (1.5)(a)(VI)(B); repeal (1.5)(a)(IV)(D); and add 5 (1.5)(a)(VI)(A.5) as follows: 6 **30-2-102.** Categorization of counties for fixing salaries of 7 county officers - salary amounts - legislative declaration. (1.5) (a) For 8 the purpose of establishing the salaries of county officers whose terms of 9 office begin on or after January 1, 2016: 10 (III) (B) Category III-B counties consist of the counties of 11 Archuleta, Delta, Gilpin, GRAND, and Logan; 12 (D) Category III-D counties consist of the counties of Grand, Las 13 Animas and Montezuma. 14 (IV) (C) Category IV-C counties consist of the county COUNTIES 15 of Huerfano AND RIO GRANDE; 16 (D) Category IV-D counties consist of the county of Rio Grande. 17 (V) (B) Category V-B counties consist of the counties of Crowley, 18 and Hinsdale, AND SAGUACHE; 19 (D) Category V-D counties consist of the counties COUNTY of 20 Cheyenne. and Saguache. 21 (VI) (A.5) CATEGORY VI-C COUNTIES CONSIST OF THE COUNTY OF

1 JACKSON;

2 (B) Category VI-D counties consist of the counties of Jackson and
3 COUNTY OF Kiowa.

4 **SECTION 2.** Act subject to petition - effective date. This act takes effect at 12:01 a.m. on the day following the expiration of the 5 6 ninety-day period after final adjournment of the general assembly (August 7 8, 2018, if adjournment sine die is on May 9, 2018); except that, if a 8 referendum petition is filed pursuant to section 1 (3) of article V of the 9 state constitution against this act or an item, section, or part of this act 10 within such period, then the act, item, section, or part will not take effect 11 unless approved by the people at the general election to be held in 12 November 2018 and, in such case, will take effect on the date of the official declaration of the vote thereon by the governor. 13