Second Regular Session Seventy-fourth General Assembly STATE OF COLORADO

INTRODUCED

LLS NO. R24-1056.01 Katelyn Guderian x3205

SJR24-012

SENATE SPONSORSHIP

Gardner and Bridges,

HOUSE SPONSORSHIP

Armagost and Joseph,

Senate Committees

House Committees

SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 24-012

101 CONCERNING THE DESIGNATION OF MARCH 4, 2024, AS "COLORADO

- 102 AEROSPACE DAY".
 - WHEREAS, Our nation and the world have significantly
 benefitted from technological and scientific advances resulting from
 space exploration and aerospace activities; and
 - 4 WHEREAS, Colorado ranks first in the nation for aerospace 5 employment concentration; and
 - 6 WHEREAS, There are over 37,000 Coloradans who are directly 7 employed in aerospace, with the aerospace cluster supporting over 8 250,000 jobs; and
 - 9 WHEREAS, Colorado is home to the nation's top aerospace

companies, including Ball Aerospace, Blue Origin, Boeing, L3Harris,
 Lockheed Martin Space, Maxar Technologies, Northrop Grumman,
 Raytheon, Sierra Space, and United Launch Alliance, and close to 500
 additional companies that support the aerospace sector by providing
 services and developing products, including spacecraft, launch vehicles,
 satellites, command and control software, sensors, and navigation
 operations; and

8 WHEREAS, Colorado is a strategic location for national space and 9 cyber activity, with five key military commands: North American Aerospace Defense Command (NORAD), the United States Northern 10 Command, the Joint Functional Component Command for Integrated 11 12 Missile Defense, the United States Army Space and Missile Defense Command/Army Forces Strategic Command, and the permanent home of 13 United States Space Command, and three space-related United States 14 Space Force bases: Buckley, Peterson, and Schriever; and 15

16 WHEREAS, The United States Air Force Academy, along with Colorado's colleges and universities, including the University of Colorado 17 Boulder, University of Colorado at Colorado Springs, Colorado School 18 of Mines, Colorado State University, Metropolitan State University of 19 20 Denver, University of Denver, Colorado Mesa University, and Fort Lewis College, provides access to world-class aerospace-related degrees and 21 offers aerospace companies one of the country's most educated 22 23 workforces; and

WHEREAS, Various organizations are key to Colorado's 24 prominence in aerospace, such as the American Institute of Aeronautics 25 26 and Astronautics, the world's largest aerospace technical society; the Colorado Space Coalition, a group of industry stakeholders working to 27 28 grow and promote Colorado as a center of excellence for aerospace; the 29 Colorado chapter of Citizens for Space Exploration, housed within the 30 Colorado Business Roundtable, whose mission is to promote better understanding of aerospace and its importance in our economy and daily 31 32 lives, as well as promoting the importance of human space exploration; and the Colorado Space Business Roundtable, an organization that works 33 to convene stakeholders from industry, government, and academia to 34 advance aerospace business and workforce opportunities throughout the 35 36 state. Together, these organizations form the Colorado chapter of the 37 Aerospace States Association, a nonpartisan organization of lieutenant 38 governors and associate members from aerospace organizations and 39 academia who represent states' interests in federal aerospace and aviation policy development, currently led by Colorado Lieutenant Governor
 Dianne Primavera; and

WHEREAS, The Colorado Air and Space Port seeks to serve as America's hub for commercial space transportation, research, and development. This horizontal launch facility will have the potential to become the foundation for a global suborbital transportation network connecting Colorado globally; now, therefore,

8 Be It Resolved by the Senate of the Seventy-fourth General 9 Assembly of the State of Colorado, the House of Representatives 10 concurring herein:

11

That we, the members of the Colorado General Assembly:

(1) Strongly urge and request the government of the United States
of America to take action to preserve and enhance American leadership
in space, spur innovation, and ensure our continued national and
economic security by increasing funding for space exploration and
activities;

17 (2) Congratulate NASA and Lockheed Martin Space on the return
18 of its mission OSIRIS-ReX to earth on September 24, 2023, after its
19 six-year journey from Bennu with the first-ever sample return from an
20 asteroid;

21 (3) Recognize and appreciate the Colorado companies, including 22 Ball Aerospace, Boeing, Lockheed Martin Space, Northrop Grumman, Raytheon, United Launch Alliance, and others, that are key to enabling 23 24 human exploration throughout our solar system, supporting NASA's 25 Artemis Program to take humans to the moon and beyond. These 26 companies' work continues to expand our understanding of the universe, 27 enabling a new generation of groundbreaking research with innovations like the James Webb Space Telescope, and will help lead the way in the 28 29 search for life beyond our planet with the Habitable Worlds Observatory;

30 (4) Recognize and appreciate the exciting new innovations such
31 as the successful inaugural flight of the United Launch Alliance Vulcan
32 Centaur Rocket on January 8, 2024, as well as the upcoming inaugural
33 flight of Boeing's CST-100 Starliner Crew Test Flight to the International
34 Space Station and the upcoming inaugural flight of the Sierra Space
35 Dream Chaser, the world's only winged commercial spaceplane, to the

International Space Station, both of which will launch on a United
 Launch Alliance rocket; and

3 (5) Hereby declare March 4, 2024, to be "Colorado Aerospace
4 Day".

5 Be It Further Resolved, That copies of this Joint Resolution be sent 6 to President Joseph Biden, Jr.; Vice President Kamala Harris; Speaker of the House of Representatives Mike Johnson; House Minority Leader 7 8 Hakeem Jeffries; Senate Majority Leader Charles Schumer; Senate 9 Minority Leader Mitch McConnell; Senator John Hickenlooper; Senator Michael Bennet; Congresswoman Diana DeGette; Congressman Joe 10 11 Neguse; Congresswoman Lauren Boebert; Congressman Ken Buck; Congressman 12 Doug Lamborn; Congressman Jason Crow: Congresswoman Brittany Pettersen; Congresswoman Yadira Caraveo; 13 14 Bill Nelson, NASA Administrator; Michael Whitaker, Administrator, Federal Aviation Administration; Governor Jared Polis; Lieutenant 15 Governor and Co-chair, Colorado Space Coalition, Dianne Primavera; 16 Brigadier General Laura Clellan, The Adjutant General of Colorado; 17 General Stephen N. Whiting, Commander, U.S. Space Command; 18 19 Colonel Marcus Jackson, Buckley Garrison Commander, Buckley Space 20 Force Base; Dr. Christopher Scolese, Director, National Reconnaissance Office; Ross B. Garelick Bell, Executive Director, Aerospace States 21 Association; Heather Pringle, Chief Executive Officer, Space Foundation; 22 Dr. Ronald M. Sega, Co-chair, Colorado Space Coalition; Michael Gass, 23 Co-chair, Colorado Space Coalition; Debra Wilcox, Chair, Colorado 24 25 Space Business Roundtable; Christie Lee and Stacey DeFore, Co-chairs, Colorado Citizens for Space Exploration; Marshall Lee, Chair, AIAA 26 27 Rocky Mountain Section; Jeff Kloska, Director, Colorado Air and Space Port; and Debbie Brown, President, Colorado Business Roundtable. 28