Skip to main content
Colorado General AssemblyToggle Main Menu
Agency NameToggle Agency Menu

A55E6F5817EE657B87258282006035F1 Hearing Summary


Date May 3, 2018      
Location LSB A

SCR18-004 - Referred to House Appropriations

11:30:53 AM  

Representative Foote explained that testimony on Senate Concurrent Resolution 18-004 and Senate Concurrent Resolution 18-005 would be taken at the same time and then each resolultion would be voted on seperately.

11:31:38 AM  

Representative Duran and Representative Neville, co-prime resolution sponsors, presented SCR 18-004 and SCR 18-005.  Each state is granted representatives in the U.S. Congress based on the state's share of the total U.S. population.  Every ten years following the U.S. census, the state's congressional districts must be redrawn so that each district has equal population.  Currently in Colorado, the General Assembly is responsible for dividing the state into seven congressional districts.  SCR 18-004 refers a measure to the voters to amend the Colorado constitution to establish the Independent Congressional Redistricting Commission and requires the commission to create a congressional redistricting plan, thus removing this responsibility from the General Assembly.


Under current law, the Colorado Reapportionment Commission must create and approve a legislative district plan for the Colorado House of Representatives and Colorado State Senate.  SCR 18-005 refers a measure to the voters to amend the Colorado Constitution to replace the current Reapportionment Commission with the Independent Legislative Redistricting Commission.

11:41:45 AM  
Toni Larson, League of Women Voters of Colorado, testified in support of SCR 18-004 and SCR 18-005.
11:45:46 AM  

Mike Kopp, Colorado Concern, testified in support of SCR18-004 and SCR18-005.

11:51:03 AM  
John Zakhem, representing himself, testified in support of the SCR 18-004 and SCR 18-005. He discussed amendment L.002 to SCR18-005 [Attachment A]. Mr. Zakhem answered questions from the committee.
11:59:42 AM  
Amanda Gonzalez, Colorado Common Cause, testified in support of SCR 18-004 and SCR 18-005.
12:01:59 PM  
Mark Grueskin, Citizens for Integrity, testified in support of SCR 18-004 and SCR 18-005. He answered questions from the committee.
12:10:05 PM  

Representative Duran responded to committee member questions. Committee discussion with Mr. Grueskin ensued.

12:12:17 PM  
Emily Ibach, Colorado Farm Bureau, testified in support of SCR 18-004 and SCR 18-005.
12:13:53 PM  

Dianna Orf, Associated Governments of Northwest Colorado, testified in support of SCR 18-004 and SCR 18-005.

12:14:39 PM  
Representative Duran and Representative Neville made concluding remarks about SCR 18-004 and SCR 18-005.
12:16:06 PM  
Committee members commented on the SCR 18-004.

12:18:36 PM
Motion Refer SCR18-004 to the Committee on Appropriations.
Moved Melton
Seconded Humphrey
Benavidez Yes
Hooton Yes
Humphrey Yes
Leonard Yes
Melton Yes
Weissman Yes
Williams D. Yes
Lontine Yes
Foote Yes
Final YES: 9   NO: 0   EXC: 0   ABS:  0   FINAL ACTION:  PASS

Colorado legislature email addresses ending in are no longer active. Please replace with for Colorado legislature email addresses. Details

The effective date for bills enacted without a safety clause is August 7, 2024, if the General Assembly adjourns sine die on May 8, 2024, unless otherwise specified. Details