Skip to main content
Colorado General AssemblyToggle Main Menu
Agency NameToggle Agency Menu

Funding Higher Education Student Transition Programs

Concerning establishing a higher education student transition pilot program.
2020 Regular Session
Higher Education
Bill Summary

The bill establishes the higher education student transition pilot program (pilot program) in the department of higher education (department) to provide grants to partnering 2-year and 4-year institutions of higher education that establish a transition program that allows students to enroll in courses and access student services at both of the partnering institutions. Grants are awarded for one year and are renewed annually if the partnering institutions continue to operate a transition program. The pilot program is repealed, effective June 30, 2026.

In order to be eligible for a grant, a 2-year institution and a 4-year institution must enter into a memorandum of understanding to establish a transition program. An individual institution is not eligible for a grant. Participation in the transition program must be free for each student, though students are responsible for tuition and fees for enrolling in courses and using student services. A transition program must:

  • Classify each participating student as a student of both partnering institutions and allow the student to enroll in courses at either partnering institution;
  • Provide participating students with access to the same student services and benefits available to a student enrolled in either partnering institution and offer wraparound support services; and
  • Include a comprehensive advising program to ensure that the courses students are taking satisfy the requirements for a degree at both the 2-year institution and the 4-year institution.
    (Note: This summary applies to this bill as introduced.)




Bill Text


Sponsor Type Legislators
Prime Sponsor

Sen. T. Story
Rep. M. Young



The effective date for bills enacted without a safety clause is August 7, 2024, if the General Assembly adjourns sine die on May 8, 2024, unless otherwise specified. Details